A Season

As I walked through the valley of death, in grieving clothes, slumbered in the tombs, with my head down with sorrow, the Lord was with me. Black as the night, the darkness hovered over me as a canopy that kept me hidden. As scripture Psalm 23:4 (NLT) says: ” Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me…”
Slowly ripping my grieving clothes to shreds, and emerging from a place into an unfamiliar territory that is my new normal. He is making things new again. As scripture Revelation 21:5 (NLT) says: “…Look, I am making everything new!…”
Eyes swollen and tired, in total shock, floating in a numbing state when my mother passed away, with my heart shattered into a thousand pieces and scattered like sand on the ocean shore, I knew my God carried me through. It was only HIS footprints that were imprinted on the sands of earth. And even though tears continue to flow down my heart-shaped face, I know my God is still with me, healing me through the inside, mending my heart back to whole and newness, and pouring His living water so I will not go thirsty because He refreshes my soul and gives me life again.
When my mother passed, parts of me died with her. Knowing that life will not be the same again. But also knowing that my God is good and faithful. He will not let me drown in sorrow. He will lift my head up high to see who He is and what He can do. I believe.
Death will not overcome. Life continues. Eternal life wins.

Leave a comment