The Last Day

The day my mom passed was not only a day of sorrow, but also a day where she walked in the heavenly gardens. If you believe in Jesus, have accepted Him as your Lord and Savior, decided to have a relationship with Him, confessed your sins to Him, repented, and professed your faith-believing in who He is and what He has done, then you are saved by Him. Eternal life is abundant life. It’s not given or received from this world and the conformities. It is knowing Jesus with what He gives and provides. He is the only One true God who rose from the dead, defeated the grave, and resurrected to open the gates of Heaven. It takes more in just believing in Him. It also takes a personal, intimate relationship with Christ. Eternal life does not begin at the moment of our dying bodies, ultimately death. It begins with your personal relationship with Jesus. We don’t know our judgment or if our names are written in the Book of Life, but this we can know that there is hope in Jesus. That without Him we are nothing and nobody. Who would not want to spend eternity with Him? Heaven is real. Jesus is real. Life with Him is real. But there are prerequisites in starting our faith journey, in the preparation of spending eternity in His Kingdom.

The last day my mom breathed earthly air, she was praying with her rosary in hand. She told me that day to take my rosary with me to her doctor’s appointment. Now I know she was scared of the unknown. Maybe she knew it was her last day on earth. Maybe she knew that she was ready to fall into the embrace of the Lord. I don’t know, but my mom knew what she had to do that day and that was to pray fervently. A week later, it came into my thoughts that I had to pick up her clothes from the facility where she had her heart procedure, where she began to die. In her pant pocket, I found her rosary. I could not help but to think about her faith in Jesus. She loved Jesus so much because He carried her through this life of hardships and disappointments. But He also healed through some health scares.

The Lord will put you together from the shattered, broken, crushed pieces. Mending, repairing, restoring, redeeming you back to life. When my mom passed on that day, I was torn, lost, in despair, broken. But Jesus began to show me a different way to live, to live with hope in Him. He is the source of Hope in darkness. Where you think there is no other way out… He is our way out. For scripture says in John 14:6 NLT, “Jesus told him, ” I am the way, the truth and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.” And that is Biblical truth. I want to live life abundantly, eternally, knowing Christ lives in me. I want to spend eternity with Him. I want to know Him better than I did yesterday. It’s not about the conformity of this world, living in the motions, thinking that the fullness of life is taking a trip around the world, filling our bucket list of desires, materialistic and its objects, achievements and worldly accomplishments because all that is temporal and will soon fade; and won’t matter on our last day. While that is all good, what will really matter is the spiritual treasures we gathered when living on this earth. Did we serve Jesus? Did we do what was right in Jesus’ eyes? Did we put on a Jesus attitude? Did we choose Jesus? Did we point others to Jesus? Did we speak of who Jesus is in our lives, giving Him all the glory? Do we believe in HIM? Those are the things that are going to matter. So, start telling the world about who Jesus is and what He has done for you. Jesus wants everybody to spend eternity with Him because He loves you and me.

Leave a comment